Skip to main content

Aldon Morris Receives 2016 Prose Award for The Scholar Denied

February 4, 2016

Washington, DC; Feb. 4, 2016 – Winners of the PROSE Awards (#PROSEAwards) were announced during the annual Professional and Scholarly Publishing (PSP) Conference in Washington, DC. Winning the highest honor, the R.R. Hawkins Award which includes a $10,000 prize for the author, was the University of California Press for The Scholar Denied: W.E.B. Du Bois and the Birth of Modern Sociology by Aldon D. Morris.

The Scholar Denied is a groundbreaking volume that re-writes our understanding of the founding and organization of one of America’s most important disciplines in the social sciences,” said Ilene Kalish, Executive Editor, Social Sciences, New York University Press, and Sociology & Social Work judge for the 2016 PROSE Awards.  “Through meticulous and compelling research, Aldon Morris shows how race and racism worked to deny the accolades of scholarship to a sociologist who managed to produce field-defining research that, even a hundred years later, has much to tell us about race, class and opportunity.”

Chosen from the year’s Award for Excellence selection of winners, the top R.R. Hawkins prize recognizes outstanding scholarly works in all disciplines of the arts and sciences. The Scholar Denied: W.E.B. Du Bois and the Birth of Modern Sociology won the Award for Excellence in Social Sciences.

Back to top