Faculty

ASA 2014 Presenters

Faculty | Visiting Faculty | Affiliated and Joint Appointments | In Memoriam

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Mailing Address:
Northwestern University
Department of Sociololgy
1810 Chicago Avenue
Evanston, IL 60208-1330

Nicola Beisel

Beisel, Nicola
1810 Chicago Ave., Rm 223
(847) 467-1250
nbeisel@northwestern.edu

Cultural Sociology, Sex and Gender, Historical Sociology

Charles Camic

Camic, Charles
1808 Chicago Ave., Rm 107
(847) 491-5671
c-camic@northwestern.edu

Classical/Contemporary Sociological Theory, Sociology of Ideas/Knowledge, Sociology of Science, History of Sociology and Social Thought, Historical Sociology

Hector Carrillo

Carrillo, Hector
(847) 467-0516
hector@northwestern.edu

Latino Culture and Ethnicity, Sexuality, Migration, Health

bruce carruthers

Carruthers, Bruce
1808 Chicago Ave., Rm 203
(847) 467-1251
b-carruthers@northwestern.edu

Comparative/Historical Sociology, Economy and Society, Sociology of Law, Sociology of Organizations

Anthony Chen

Chen, Anthony S.
1808 Chicago Ave., Rm 105
(847) 467-0515

American Political Development/Public Policy (since the New Deal), Historical Sociology, Economic Sociology, Racial Inequality

Carolyn Chen

Chen, Carolyn
1808 Chicago Ave., Rm 103
(847) 467-4069
cechen@northwestern.edu

Asian American Studies, Religion, Race/Ethnicity, Migration

Thomas Cook

Cook, Thomas
617 Library Pl (IPR), Rm 22
(847) 491-3776
t-cook@northwestern.edu

Social Psychology, Social Science/Human Development, Evaluation Research, Education

Steven Epstein

Epstein, Steven
(847) 491-5536
s-epstein@northwestern.edu

Sociology of Biomedicine, Sociology of Science, Social Movements, Health and Inequality, Sociology of Sexuality, LGBT Studies

Wendy Espeland

Espeland, Wendy
(Colloquium Coordinator)
1808 Chicago Ave., Rm 207
(847) 467-1252
wne741@northwestern.edu

Cultural Sociology, Organizations-formal/complex, Qualitative Methodology

Gary Alan Fine

Fine, Gary Alan
(On Leave)
1810 Chicago Ave., Rm 221
(847) 491-3495
g-fine@northwestern.edu

Social Psychology, Cultural Sociology, Qualitative Methodology, Science, Knowledge/Technology

Jeremy Freese

Freese, Jeremy
1810 Chicago Ave., Rm 222
(847) 467-3985

Social Psychology, Science and Technology, Health and Illness, Social Inequality, Research Methods

Wendy Griswold

Griswold, Wendy
(Chair of Graduate Admissions)
1810 Chicago Ave., Rm 227
(847) 491-2701
w-griswold@northwestern.edu

Cultural Sociology, Sociology of Literature, Urban Representations

John Hagan

Hagan, John
(Chair)
1812 Chicago Ave., Rm 207
(847) 491-5688
jhagan@abfn.org

Criminology/Delinquency, Law and Society, Theory

Carol Heimer

Heimer, Carol
(Director of Graduate Studies)
1808 Chicago Ave., Rm 109
(847) 491-7480
c-heimer@northwestern.edu

Law and Society, Organizations-formal/complex, Medical Sociology, Sociological Theory

Albert Hunter

Hunter, Albert
1812 Chicago Ave., Rm 203
(847) 491-3804
ahunter@northwestern.edu

Urban Sociology

Mahoney, James
(847) 491-2626
james-mahoney@northwestern.edu

National Development, Qualitative Methodology, Macro Theory

Leslie McCall

McCall, Leslie
(Director of Undergraduate Studies)
1812 Chicago Ave., Rm 305
(847) 467-1327
l-mccall@northwestern.edu

Social Inequality, Economic Sociology, Political Sociology, Methods/Social Theory

Aldon Morris

Morris, Aldon
1812 Chicago Ave., Rm 102
(847) 491-3448
amorris@northwestern.edu

Social Movements, Black Social Protest, Sociological Theory, Sociology of W. E. B. Du Bois, Social Inequality, Race, Religion

Robert Nelson

Nelson, Robert
Director of American Bar Foundation
1810 Chicago Ave., Rm 321
(847) 491-3203
r-nelson@northwestern.edu

Law and Society, Organizations-formal/complex, Occupations and Professions

Laura Beth Nielsen

Nielsen, Laura Beth
Director of Legal Studies
1808 Chicago Ave., Rm 209
(847) 491-3718
l-nielsen@northwestern.edu

Sociology of Law, Inequality, Gender, Race

Ann Shola Orloff

Orloff, Ann Shola
(On Leave)
1808 Chicago Ave., Rm 201
(847) 491-3719
a-orloff@northwestern.edu

Comparative-Historical Sociology, Gender and Social Inequalities, Theory, Political Sociology

Mary Pattillo

Pattillo, Mary
(847) 491-3409
m-pattillo@northwestern.edu

Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Urban Sociology, Qualitative Methodology

christine percheski

Percheski, Christine
(On Leave)
1812 Chicago Ave., Rm 208
(847) 491-2697
c-percheski@northwestern.edu

Demography, Stratification and Social Inequality, Work and Occupations, Health

Prasad, Monica
1810 Chicago Ave., Rm 327
(847) 491-3899
m-prasad@northwestern.edu

Political Sociology, Economic Sociology, Comparative Historical Analysis

Lincoln Quillian

Quillian, Lincoln
1812 Chicago Ave., Rm 303
(847) 491-7488
l-quillian@northwestern.edu

Social Stratification, Race and Ethnicity, Urban Sociology, Quantitative Research Methods

Karrie Snyder

Snyder, Karrie Ann
1808 Chicago Ave., Rm 106
(847) 467-0517
karrie-snyder@northwestern.edu

Gender, Family, Work, Health

Quincy Thomas Stewart

Stewart, Quincy Thomas
(847) 491-7044
q-stewart@northwestern.edu

Demography, Race and Ethnicity, Quantitative Methods, Health and Mortality

Susan Thistle

Thistle, Susan
(Associate Chair)
1808 Chicago Ave., Rm 110
(847) 491-3358
s-thistle@northwestern.edu

Environment, Gender, Historical and Comparative

Celeste Watkins-Hayes

Watkins-Hayes, Celeste
c-watkins@northwestern.edu

Urban Poverty; Social Policy; HIV/AIDS; Formal Organizations (non-profit and government); Race, Class, and Gender

 

Back to Top

Faculty | Visiting Faculty | Affiliated and Joint Appointments | In Memoriam

PROFESSORS EMERITI, VISITING PROFESSORS AND POST DOCS

Carolyn Chen

Anderson, Elisabeth
(Visiting Faculty)
515 Clark Street, Rm 205
Phone: 1-847-467-3986
elisabeth@northwestern.edu

Comparative/historical sociology, political sociology, sociology of childhood and youth, welfare states and social policy, gender, and theory.
Bernard Beck

Beck, Bernard
(Emeritus)
(847) 467-1250
b-beck@northwestern.edu

Theory, Art/Music, Cultural Sociology

Evren Savci

Craciun, Mariana
(Postdoctoral Fellow)
1812 Chicago Avenue, Rm 109
Phone: 1-847-491-2741
mariana.craciun@northwestern.edu

Professions and Expertise, Social Studies of Science, Sociological Theory, Medical Sociology, Race and Ethnicity, Immigration

Greene, Theodore
(Visiting Faculty)
515 Clark Street, Rm 202
Phone: 1-847-491-7244
t-greene@northwestern.edu
Urban/Community Sociology; Sexualities; Race, Class, and Gender; Social Movements; Qualitative Methods
Stefan Henning

Henning, Stefan
(Visiting Scholar)
stefan-henning@northwestern.edu

20th Century Chinese History, Anthropology of Muslim Societies, Religious Activism, Friedrich Nietzsche

Koski, Jessica
(Visiting Faculty)
515 Clark Street, Rm 205
Phone: 1-847-491-2704
j-koski@northwestern.edu
Sociology of Science and Technology; Environmental Sociology; Social Movements; Medical Sociology

Yael Israel-Cohen
(Visiting Scholar)
Crowe Hall, Rm 4-131
Phone: 1-847-467-5652
yaelcohen@northwestern.edu

Collective Trauma, Postraumatic Stress, Education and Adolescents' Well-being, Sociology of Religion, Gender

Norton, Aaron
(SPAN Postdoctoral Fellow)
1810 Chicago Avenue, Rm 323
Phone: 1-847-467-4139
aaron.norton@northwestern.edu

Gender and Sexuality Studies, Science and Technology Studies, Social Studies of Risk, Biopolitics and HIV/AIDS, Social Psychology

Stinchcombe, Arthur
(Emeritus)
cell: (847) 373-3734
a-stinch@northwestern.edu

Law and Society, Science and Technology, Economy and Society

Christian Ukaegbu

Ukaegbu, Christian
Visiting Scholar
c-ukaegbu@northwestern.edu

Development and Change, Political Economy, Organizations, African Studies

Zhang, Jun
Visiting Scholar
jun.zhang@northwestern.edu
Modern Theories in Sociology, Sociology of Economy

 

Back to Top

Faculty | Visiting Faculty | Affiliated and Joint Appointments | In Memoriam

COURTESY, AFFILIATED, AND JOINT APPOINTMENTS

 

Pablo Boczkowski
Communication Studies

Jennifer Light
Communication Studies

Jeannette Colyvas
School of Education and Social Policy

William Ocasio
Kellogg School of Management

Terence C. Halliday
American Bar Foundation

Lauren Rivera
Kellogg School of Management

Eszter Hargittai
Communication Studies

James Rosenbaum
School of Education and Social Policy

Barnor Hesse
African American Studies

Linda Teplin
Medical School/Clinical Psychology

Paul Hirsch
Kellogg School of Management

Brian Uzzi
Kellogg School of Management

Simone Ispa-Landa
School of Education and Social Policy

Klaus Weber
Kellogg School of Management

Brayden King
Kellogg School of Management

Edward Zajac
Kellogg School of Management

 

Back to Top

Faculty | Visiting Faculty | Affiliated and Joint Appointments | In Memoriam

IN MEMORIAM

 

Daniels, Arlene Kaplan
Professor Emeritus

Sociology of work/occupations and Studies in
Education

Mack, Raymond,
Professor Emeritus

Race Relations and Urban Policies

Charles Moskos

Moskos, Charles
Professor Emeritus

Military Sociology and Greek Americans

Allan Schnaiberg

Schnaiberg, Allan
Professor Emeritus

Environmental Sociology, Economy and Society, Family

 

Back to Top

FACULTY SEARCHES

NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY's Department of Sociology invites applications for a full-time, tenure-track, Assistant Professor position to begin in the Fall of 2015.  More information.


NORTHWESTERN UNIVERSITY'S Department of Sociology invites applications for a full-time, benefits-eligible, non-tenure eligible faculty appointment as Assistant Professor of Instruction, beginning September 1, 2015. More infromation.


NEED EXPERT ADVICE?

Our faculty advisers can help you select Sociology courses, even if Sociology isn't your major or minor.

Searle Center for Advancing Learning & Teaching provides a variety of programs and workshops for graduate students and faculty interested in developing their teaching practices. In addition, the Searle Center offers a variety of programs for graduate students seeking to develop their skills as Teaching Assistant (TA) and instructor , such as, a yearly conference for new TA's, a teaching certificate program and fellowship opportunities.


 

Upcoming Events

Urban/Community Workshop: Professor Marcus Britton, University of Wisconsin- Milwaukee
October 21, 20145:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Sociology Colloquium - Professor Kathleen Cagney, The University of Chicago
October 23, 201412:30 PM - 2:00 PM

October 15, 2014